The first step in applying for a Marriage License in Beltrami County is to complete the Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS) Marriage License Application.
The next step is for both parties to visit the County License Center within 90 days of completing the on-line application. If one of the applicants is unable to appear, the form Marriage License Application for One Party Not Appearing must be completed. A Minnesota resident may apply for a marriage license in any county of the state regardless of residence or where the ceremony will take place. To review the entire State Statute governing marriages in Minnesota: MS 517.
Fee is $115.00, or with 12 hours of premarital education, the reduced fee is $40.00. A completed and signed Statement of Premarital Education Form must accompany the marriage application for the reduced fee. Licenses are issued same day and are valid for six months. If your marriage license is lost or destroyed, a duplicate marriage license can be issued for a fee of $25.00.
Information necessary when applying for a Marriage License:
- Legal, full names of both applicants
- Current addresses
- Dates of birth
- State or foreign country where each person was born
- Counties where each person lives
- Social security numbers
- Information on previous marriages.
- Full name the applicants will have after marriage
- $115.00 without premarital education
- $40.00 with completed and signed Statement of Premarital Education Form
- Mailing address after marriage (where certificate will be sent)
You may pay by CHECK, CASH or CREDIT/DEBIT Card