Soil and Water Conservation District

Board of Supervisors

Governed by a Board of four publicly elected Supervisors and one Supervisor appointed by the Red Lake Band. Members are elected by nomination district on the general ballot. Terms are staggerd to assure continuity. Individuals interested in being on the ballot must file with the Beltrami County Auditor/Treasurer's Office. The Board meets monthly to provide policy governance.

Area 1

Ray Hendrickson

Area 2

Rachel Gray

Area 3

Ruth Trask

Area 4

Sam Christenson

Area 5

Shane Bowe



Day to day operations are conducted by Environmental Services Department (ESD) and Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) staff

Brent Rud, District Manager (SWCD), Division Director (ESD)
Shannon Schmidt and Megan FitzGerald, Office Support (SWCD and ESD)
Bill Best, Environmental Resource Specialist (SWCD and ESD)
Shane Foley, Environmental Resource Specialist (SWCD and ESD)
Zachrie Gutknecht, Clean Water Specialist (SWCD and ESD)
Aly Bergstrom, Conservation Technician

Joint Powers Board Conservation staff:

Brad Kennedy, Conservation Technician 218-751-1942 x6
William Westerberg, Conservation Engineer (Crow Wing County SWCD) 218-828-6197 F: 218-828-6095


  • 701 Minnesota Ave NW, Suite 113
    Bemidji, MN 56601
    218-333-4158 F: 218-333-8486
  • Beltrami SWCD