Sheriff's Office

Law Enforcement Scholarship Program

the MSA Board of Directors has established a scholarship fund for the awarding of up to 15 - $2,000 scholarships for this year. These scholarships are due to the coordinated efforts of the 87 Sheriffs of the State of Minnesota.

The Members of MSA gives special recognition to the financial needs of students attending the peace officer skills course, or one of the two or four year law enforcement degree colleges. “The Board of Directors feel peace officers in our democratic society have complex duties to perform” said Sheriff Beitel. MSA recognizes the importance of pre-entry training for people considering law enforcement as their career choice. MSA recognizes some students need outside help in meeting the costs of such training, even though they excel academically.

The Scholarship Committee, in making its selection of awards, intends on achieving representation from all geographical areas of the state. Scholarship awards will be announced by December 28th of the same year. Application forms and a statement of procedures are available at the Beltrami county sheriff’s office or by clicking the application link below. Scholarships are only available to students currently enrolled in one of the following three categories:

  1. 1. Mandated POST Skills Program
  2. 2. In their second year of a two-year law enforcement program.
  3. 3. In their third or fourth year of a four-year college criminal justice program.


In order to qualify, students must have completed at least one year of the two-year program or two years of a four-year program. Students meeting these criteria are invited to obtain a scholarship application form from their local sheriff’s office or online at .

Scholarship Press Release
Scholarship Application


Sheriff, Ernie Beitel
Law Enforcement Center
613 Minnesota Ave. NW
Bemidji, MN 56601

phone: 218-333-9111
Monday-Friday 7 am - 7 pm
Saturday-Sunday 9 am - 7 pm

Dedicated to:
Protect the lives, rights, privileges and property of the citizens of Beltrami County